For Facilities:

Accreditation for Family Child Care

The National Association for Family Child Care accredits family day care homes that offer high-quality child care services. The purpose of the accreditation is to offer professional recognition and consumer distinction to those providers who meet these high standards of quality child care. Accreditation is intended for those licensed providers who have demonstrated a commitment to reach beyond these minimum requirements to achieve standards of excellence.

National Association for the Education of Young Children

The purpose of NAEYC accreditation is to improve the quality of care and education provided for young children in group programs in the United States. Find out about the accreditation process, criteria, application, and NAEYC resources for accreditation. Learn more.

American Montessori Society

The American Montessori Society (AMS) is the foremost advocate for quality Montessori education, an innovative, child-centered approach to learning. AMS sets the high professional standards that inform Montessori education as practiced in AMS-accredited schools and taught in AMS-affiliated teacher education programs.

For Child Care Workers:

Child Development Associate

The Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition offers the Child Development Associate credential to individuals who work with young children. In order to qualify, a candidate must : 1) demonstrate a working knowledge of, and competence in, early childhood education; 2) complete a minimum of 480 hours of on-the-job experience; and 3) participate in formal training.

This credential is offered to individuals working in center-based settings with either preschool or infant/toddler endorsement, family child care, and by home visitors. Bilingual specialization is also available. For more information, call 1-800-424-4310 (Council for Professional Recognition) for brochure and beginning information.